Me by Charles Bukowski | Poem No. 18 (NPM2017)

happy valentine's day

me

by Charles Bukowski

women don’t know how to love

she told me.

you know how to love

but women just want to

leech.

I know this because I’m a

woman.

hahaha I laughed.

so don’t worry about your breakup

with Susan

because she’ll just leech onto

somebody else.

we talked a while longer

then I said goodbye

hungup

went into the crapper and

took a good beershit

mainly thinking, well,

I’m still alive

and have the ability to expel

wastes from my body.

and poems.

and as long as that’s happening

I have the ability to handle

betrayal

loneliness

hangnail

clap

and the economic reports in the

financial section

with that

I stood up

wiped

flushed

then thought:

it’s true:

I know how to love

I pulled up my pants and walked

into the other room. 

You can get a copy of Love is A Dog From Hell from Book Depository and Amazon.

happy valentine's day

Leave a comment