Cinder by Marissa Meyer

10727710_387664474732336_1428236093_n

Synopsis: Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Date Published: January 3, 2012

Publisher: Feiwel and Friends

Date Read: November 2, 2014

REVIEW

Wondrously unique and addictive.

Oh Stars in heaven, I need Scarlet right at this very moment. I am surprised that I loved this book more than I allow myself to. To be honest I didn’t set my expectations too high, the least I wanted to happen was to end up disappointed. But boy, this book is anything but disappointment. It was a real page-turner. It has everything I wanted in a book: romance, great world-building, badass heroine and some fantasy. I specifically loved that the things that have yet to unfold were foreshadowed beautifully, like the mention of Cress and Winter.

Everything was coherent and connected to one another, not leaving anything unnecessary. It was more than what I have bargained for and definitely more than what I gave it credit for. Well it was indeed great that I didn’t set the bar too high, that when it turned out to be awesome, I was floored! And now I’m excited, I heard the series gets better.

To say I loved it would be an understatement because If I did not, I wouldn’t have stayed awake at this ungodly hour writing a review about it. I just don’t want to miss out on things I wanted to say. Can’t wait to get my hands on Scarlet!

And oh, what I liked more about Cinder is it reminded me in some bizarre way of Daughter of Smoke and Bone, which I love to no end. So I guess I’ll be raving about this series for a while, better get used to it.\

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

“He was the fantasy of every girl in the country. He was so far out of realm, her world, that she should have stopped thinking about him the second the door had closed. Should stop thinking about him immediately. Should never think about him again, except maybe as a client – and her prince.
And yet, the memory of his fingers against her skin refused to fade.”

One thought on “Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  1. Pingback: November Wrap-Up | Nerdy Talks

Leave a Reply

