Consequences by Aleatha Romig : Book Review

16100228

imageedit_1_3468234889

Synopsis: Book #1 of the Bestselling Consequences series:

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Aleatha Romig comes a suspenseful thriller about secrets and deception, passion and love, choices and consequences.

Every action has consequences.

Waking in an unfamiliar bedroom in a luxurious mansion, Claire Nichols is terrified to discover that a chance encounter led her into the cruel hands of her abductor, Anthony Rawlings. Claire has no understanding of why she’s there, but it’s been made abundantly clear—she is now his acquisition and every action has consequences.

Learn the rules to survive.

Facing incomprehensible circumstances, Claire must learn to survive her new reality—every aspect of her livelihood depends upon the tall, dark-eyed tycoon who is a true master of deception. Driven by unknown demons, he has no tolerance for imperfection, in any aspect of his life, including his recent acquisition. Anthony may appear to the world as a handsome, benevolent businessman, but in reality Claire knows firsthand that he’s a menacing, controlling captor with very strict rules: do as you’re told, public failure is not an option, and appearances are of the utmost importance.

Captivate the captor.

To fit together the pieces of the puzzle, Claire must follow his rules. Will her plan work, or will Anthony become enthralled by Claire’s beauty, resilience, and determination, changing the game forever? If that happens, will either of them survive the consequences?

Nobody ever did or ever will escape the consequences of his choices.—Alfred A. Montapert

Date Published: August 5, 2011, 368 pages

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

Date Read: May 2013

Series: Book 1 of Consequences Series

imageedit_13_7735683809

Dark. Twisted. Intelligent. Dragging. Disturbing

Let me start by saying that I was really looking for a book that will sweep me off my feet, rather the male character would. Honestly I just wanted a light read with not so heavy plot or drama and that would just leave me feeling good about life, love or everything in general. I just wanted to feel good. THIS BOOK DID NOT MAKE ME FEEL GOOD, not even in its simplest meaning or in its simplest form. Can I just say that I was angry the whole time I was reading it? I was seriously contemplating on throwing my e-reader or just grab something and just throw it and watch it shatter into pieces, just to be done with it. I even entertained the thought of not finishing the book, but I decided against it (obviously). well after all a half-finished book is a half-finished love affair. Do you even know that feeling that you are so mad about what was happening in it yet you still continued reading? Hoping all the madness would be somewhat vindicated in the end? Were any of my fury or madness vindicated? I don’t know. Maybe? But then I thought of the Afterward part of the book and I thought the madness was never vindicated. Okay I’d settled to halfly-vindicated. Maybe if I continue reading the next book TRUTH maybe then I would get the justice I deserve.

I was intrigued by the synopsis of this book accompanied by numerous great reviews here in Goodreads. Mind-fucked and mind-blown were just the two popular reviews this book had. Was my mind blown? A little, but I would like to give credits to myself that I somehow saw it (the twist and the ending) coming. This book reminded me of Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, maybe if I had read this book first I would have been really shocked by the turn of events.

As I was reading the first few chapters I was reminded of the Fifty Shades Trilogy, all the while I thought it would just be like all BDSM and all that stuff, but I was proven wrong, yes the sub-dom part really played a part on the story, but it doesn’t revolved around it, the story is even deeper. The plot was well thought of, I would really commend Aleatha Romig on that. Everything that happened had its connection towards the end. And I really felt for Claire’s character. And can I just say too that internally I was creaming that Anthony is a Psycho? He really is and I really hate him. I say this book is effective because it was able to move me and draw out emotions, not all books can do that. A criticism though, I find the book too long, I thought there were some parts that can easily be dispensed with and also there were parts that I don’t know, maybe it lacked the proper description, especially the wedding ceremony itself, (oops spoiler sorry) I was hoping that the I dos and the vows will be described profoundly so as to make it vivid for one’s imagination. But all in all, I think it was a good read.

I need to get over the fury and madness I have in myself before proceeding to TRUTH. So if you like psycho-thriller or a twisted twist (eh?) this is definitely the book for you. But if you are hoping for romance, swoon-worthy male character or all the cheeseball stuff, I am so sorry put this book down and grab a YA novel instead.

imageedit_9_9912736129

Love is when one person knows all your secrets, your deepest, darkest, most dreadful secrets of which no one else in the world knows. And yet in the end, that one person does not think any less of you.

Leave a Reply

