How To Love by Katie Cotugno

 

Synopsis:

Before:
Reena Montero has loved Sawyer LeGrande for as long as she can remember: as natural as breathing, as endless as time. But he’s never seemed to notice that Reena even exists until one day, impossibly, he does. Reena and Sawyer fall in messy, complicated love. But then Sawyer disappears from their humid Florida town without a word, leaving a devastated—and pregnant—Reena behind.

After:
Almost three years have passed, and there’s a new love in Reena’s life: her daughter, Hannah. Reena’s gotten used to being without Sawyer, and she’s finally getting the hang of this strange, unexpected life. But just as swiftly and suddenly as he disappeared, Sawyer turns up again. Reena doesn’t want anything to do with him, though she’d be lying if she said Sawyer’s being back wasn’t stirring something in her. After everything that’s happened, can Reena really let herself love Sawyer LeGrande again?

In this breathtaking debut, Katie Cotugno weaves together the story of one couple falling in love—twice.

Date Published: October 1, 2013

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

No. of Pages: 389 pages

Date Read: November 2014

REVIEW

Chaotic and Complicated.

Sulking from the loss of someone you thought you will have forever. Starting from square one yet again. The feeling of having the weight of the world put on your already fragile shoulders. The feeling of the universe conspiring to make you sad and miserable. All that and more. That was what this book has been trying to let out from the blurb down to the very end. I get the message it was trying to send across. However a bad boy and a good girl falling for each other seemed to be too mediocre for me. Yes it was realistic, but there was something missing that I cannot quite put my finger into.

Also, I had an issue with the Before and After format (is that what you call it?) It is like there was this one chapter that everything was building up and then all of a sudden there was a shift to the time frame. The momentum was gone. Poof! It became flat and kind of anticlimactic. I was more frustrated than eager to know what’s going to happen next. Maybe the fact that I had high hopes for this book contributed to me being a little disappointed in more ways than one. And the characters, don’t get me started with Sawyer. “Oh Sawyer, oh Sawyer” was what I have been blurting out every chapter. There may or may not be some pulling of my hair for the lack of right words to show how I am affected by the characters, their decisions and all, especially Reena. There are parts that I wished turned out differently. There are words that I wished the characters never said.

All in all it was a good read. I liked the book but not really loved it to the extent of shoving it to someone else’s throat. One thing I am happy about this book is it was beautifully written, I was blown away by how the author was able to formulate such sentences. The beauty of the words written was never lost on me. And yes, if you’ll be asking me if I will read another book by this author, I definitely would.

Rating: 3 stars

“…I hate myself for letting him know that I still think about him, that I carry him around inside my skin.”

One thought on “How To Love by Katie Cotugno

  1. Pingback: November Wrap-Up | Nerdy Talks

Leave a Reply

