The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

10802913_313386818862304_1039779359_n

Synopsis: Mara Dyer wants to believe there’s more to the lies she’s been told.
There is.

She doesn’t stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead.
She should.

She never had to imagine how far she would go for vengeance.
She will now.

Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer’s story.

Retribution has arrived.

Date Published: November 4, 2014

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

No. of Pages: 470

Date Read: December 2014

REVIEW

I honestly don’t know how to rate it, tell me I’m not the only one.

Hmm how do I start this review? I just finished it, like literally three minutes ago. And here I am trying to make a coherent review despite my chaotic and very lost mind. This is the final book of the Mara Dyer series, the Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and The Evolution I have read two years ago and I am going to be completely honest, I really enjoyed it, loved it even. I have not read anything quite like it before, and because of the unique plot and the huge twist, to say it mildly, it gripped me like a vise. And boy, have I waited two long gruelling years for book three to come out. The agony of waiting, the anticipation, the constant itch of wanting to know what will happen to Mara Dyer and her peculiar abilities, to Noah, to their we-should-not-be-together-but-we-are-too-stubborn-to-think-otherwise love story were all I had to go through during the years of waiting. I have hoped that waiting will be worth it, and Michelle Hodkin would give the trilogy the justice it truly deserves. Well was it given justice? A half yes and a half no.

Let me elaborate more. First, I had so much questions towards the end of Evolution, I needed answers, I demanded it even. I bought my copy of Retribution on its release date, but I did not read it immediately. I want to be ready for it, I don’t want to rush it, like any other ending of a series I want to savour it. I was not ready for it to end. I was not ready to let go of the story I have loved so dearly. I waited three weeks to finally open the first page and let myself be engulfed by the story. Some of the people I follow on my Instagram or even the friends I made here have read it, and I was confused more than I was eager to read it. Some really loved it to death, that it was so good and so on and so forth, while there are others who gave the book two stars, worse I have seen someone gave it a one-star rating. I was appalled to put it mildly, I mean it couldn’t be that bad right? I know I had to know it for myself. So here, to cut the long story short – the last book did not quite meet my expectations. There are questions that I needed answers to, but the answers were vague. There were too many loose ends. I feel like, there were parts, that were left the way it was, for the lack of resolution to it, not for the lack of trying though. Each chapter paved the way to more questions, and I see myself pulling my hair out and mentally blurting what.in.the.actual.earth.is.happening? Second, the events that transpired, all I have to say is – convenient. Like for an instance they were in some kind of dilemma wherein you would have guessed that there is actually no way around it, then poof something convenient will happen, like they will instantly have a place to crash in for the night or all those convenient things making it anticlimactic. And then I will catch myself saying “Oh, how convenient.” with matching frustrated sigh.

What was going on with Mara, Noah and all of them who have the “power” wasn’t explained thoroughly as I hoped. It just opened the gates to more questions and confusion. I was so ready for more what-the-fuckery stuff, those kind where it was so good in a twisted and sick way (because that’s what I got from Unbecoming and Evolution, that made me love it to ruins), I got some, yes, but it didn’t hold up until the end. I only have 130ish pages left to read and I couldn’t see where the story was taking me. It didn’t grip me the way it should, the way I have expected it to – and that actually made me sad, because no one knows how much I loved the first two books. It is like I was promised Disneyland and I was brought to some dingy playground. The ending was rushed, I hate to admit it, but yes, it totally was. It was messy and wasn’t as solid as final books should. I will love Mara and Noah until the end of days, but I just wished there was a better ending, because they deserve it.

RATING:3 stars

I love you. Today. Tonight. Tomorrow. Forever. If I were to live a thousand years, I would belong to you for all of them. If I were to live a thousand lives, I would want to make you mine in each one.

5 thoughts on “The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

  1. Hey ! I’ve really been thinking of reading the first volume, but I wanted to know if it was worth all the hype ? I know this is a review of the third book, and that you were kinda disappointed, but would you recommend it to someone ? What genre is it ? Thankss :p

  2. This is a great review. I still haven’t read any of these books but I really want to. There is so much hype about them and because of that I am scared to read them. Usually when a book gets lots of hype and fame, I turn out not liking them. But I guess we will see 🙂

    • I totally understand you! Whenever a book is too hyped up, I tend not to read out or wait it out, until all hype has died down. it’s fun that I have read the first two books of the series back when there is no hype about it at all. You should give this one a go, maybe you’ll like it.

Leave a Reply

