Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan: Book Review

Dash-Lilys-Book-of-Dares-Rachel-Cohn-David-Levithan

Synopsis: “I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

16-year-old Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on her favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. Dash, in a bad mood during the holidays, happens to be the first guy to pick up the notebook and rise to its challenges.

What follows is a whirlwind romance as Dash and Lily trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations all across New York City. But can their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions, or will their scavenger hunt end in a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

Publication Date: October 11, 2011

Publisher: Random House

No. of Pages: 260

Date Read: December 2014

REVIEW

It will leave you with a stupid smile on your face.

I could not have picked up a better time to read it than Christmas season. It is the perfect Christmas read. I enjoyed their other novel Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, but Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares took cuteness and feel-goodness (if there such a word) to a whole new level. I loved how the story started inside Strand Bookstore (which by the way in my Bookish Bucket List) and started with a dare. I loved how bookish both Dash and Lily were, characters I could actually relate to.  And boy did I highlight too many passages in the book.

Dash and Lily’s story is very relatable. Dash and Lily’s voice are fun to read, their story – fanciful. I particularly liked Dash’s voice over that of Lily’s, I found Lily to be a little uptight and a little immature for a 16 year old but it matches her character so it wasn’t a big pet peeve, Dash on the other hand is a very good narrator, the reference of different books clearly won me over. I expected their story to be just pure cuteness, I wasn’t expecting something so deep. But this book was able to put up a very decent story, not life-altering but enough to make you ponder. I love how witty and unique it was. It was the book I wish was a little longer, for I was left wanting more. I loved how unconventional their love story began, I love the theme of taking chances. (I’ve been using a lot of I loves) The storyline and the subplots were perfectly played out. One thing though, I was expecting more from the ending, like something magical or a little out of the ordinary, but I liked the realness of it all. Also it is solely categorized as Young Adult and does not cater a wide range of readers, that because of this some may find it too cutesy for their own liking. I love Young Adult (despite the fact that I am almost 26, whatever I can read whatever I want) thus maybe the reason I really enjoyed this one, but I get that it is not for everyone, and it’s okay. Read and let read, right! So yes I am giving this book 5/5 stars – just because I loved it and it made me happy.

Rating: 5 stars

I want to believe, that despite all evidence to the contrary, it is possible for anyone to find that one special person. … Somebody who wouldn’t judge another for the prepositions they dangle, or their run-on sentences, and who in turn wouldn’t be judged for snobbery of their language etymology inclinations.

One thought on “Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan: Book Review

Leave a Reply

