All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven: Book Review

11022938_415743028604537_1681695133_n

imageedit_1_3468234889

Synopsis: The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Includes a PDF Help Line Resource Guide and a Note Read by the Author.

Publication Date: January 6, 2015

No. Of Pages: 378

Publisher: Knopf

Date Read: March 15, 2015

Source: Got my copy from National Book Store

imageedit_13_7735683809

It was heart-wrenching and beautiful in all the right places.

I had to let this one out: Why are YA novels these days have to have the tag line The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park? As a reader what captures my attention is a beautiful blurb, not a tagline such as this, I swear this is the nth book with a tagline like it. What I’m saying is, after reading All the Bright Places, I think the tagline has become irrelevant, I loved it on its own, it doesn’t need an advertisement, because it was beautiful by itself. I wish publishers would just stop doing it, seriously, let the book do the talking, let the book surprise you on how good it was. For someone who have read both The Fault in Our Stars and Eleanor and Park, to be honest I hardly saw the similarity. The three books tackled different stories and different predicaments. Yes, it was about young adults and their ever changing quest for what was real and the importance of being in the moment, but the books had different takes on adolescent life. So yes, for me, I just wanted to stop all these taglines.

Okayyy… now on to this beautiful, tear-inducing, perspective-changing, life-altering book. This book, oh my goodness this book, it hurt me more than I can allow it to. It was just right there subtly stabbing my fragile heart until it was too late and all the pain just swooped me in this abyss of immense sadness. I was so good at avoiding spoilers, so going to this book blindly was the best decision I’ve made. To be honest I didn’t pay much attention to the blurb, all I know was it was a sad book and a beautiful book, so I took the plunge and let it take me away, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I was already in the middle of it all when I had this gnawing feeling in my chest, like something quite not right, something was off, and I couldn’t for the life of me shake off the terrible feeling. It’s like you know shit is going to get real but you don’t know when and how so you are left with this inexplicable uneasiness. I was too afraid to continue reading, really, maybe the fact that I am personally undergoing some huge stuff contributed to the anxiety I have for the book, but I continued on like a brave soldier.

And this book didn’t disappoint. It was a gem. It will truly stay with me forever, there’s not an iota of doubt about it. I loved how the book threw in some trivia in the mix and oh my goodness of course reference to Virginia Woolf! It was well written. The characters were distinct from one another. This book made me want to fly to Indiana and go to all those places. This book will suck you in and spit out a different you, it will change your point of view in life and will teach you how to fully live in the moment, how to take risks and how to step out of the box you made for yourself. I can see myself rereading this one, and possibly passing it on to my kids someday, so they know that life will not treat them well, but there is always beauty in the ugly places.

Here’s another thing about this book, I can count in one hand the times I read through the acknowledgments part a book, but I wanted to know what brought life into this amazing book, so I read the acknowledgment and everything made more sense. I have found a whole new level of respect and admiration to the author for writing something that is very close to her heart, something so sensitive and scary, that’s why I gave this book five stars and listed it as a favorite. It was not just a fiction, it was a fragment of someone else’s life, it was a part of a person who went through the same excruciating thing and for a moment it was reality.

I could say I knew it was coming, that ending was inevitable, but this doesn’t change the fact that it was still able to draw out raw emotions from me. I sobbed, I can’t fully say I know the feeling or I could fully relate to it, but at some point I did, at some point it was also relevant to what I went through and that’s the beauty of this book, it was specific yet all encompassing. Well, after all, pain and love is and will always will be universal.

imageedit_11_3991205606

“You are all the colors in one, at full brightness.”

phonto

Advertisements

What I love About Poetry

10995039_576542525814863_1155652848_n

Don’t you just love it when you read poetry books and you get the notion that you are never going to be done with it? That each time you open that book, there is always a new emotion that would spring related to the circumstances you have now, but didn’t have the first time you read it. That poems will always be timely and relevant? That’s what I love about poetry, it is infinite.

February Book Haul

11018366_675556229220060_1811931419_n

Ooh it has been a while since I last posted something here. Work has been a b*tch. I am presenting to you my February Bookhaul. A total of 17 books consisting of 1 short story, 6 poetry books, 4 classics and 6 novels. I am pretty happy with this haul.

  • Skyfall by Christian Edwards. I got this directly from the author, it was so nice of her to contact me and ask if I would be willing to read and review her short story and I said yes, no one in their right mind can pass this one up.
  • A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway I got this as a prize from a giveaway held by amazing Ziba of @zibareads over at Instagram. I was so stoked when I found out I won the giveaway. I was actually out the whole day, so it was until late in the night that it has come to my attention that I freaking won. I never expected to win since a lot, and I mean a lot of people joined the giveaway. What are the odds right? But yeah I am so happy, this edition is really beautiful, I kid you not.
  • The 100 by Kass Morgan and The Goodluck of Right Now by Matthew Quick both books I got for 3$ it was on sale!! I bought it at Powerbooks, ATC.
  • The Man Who Ate the 747 by Ben Sherwood I got this from Booksale SM Dasma, and was so happy that it was a signed copy. Ben Sherwood was the one who wrote Charlie St. Cloud.
  • Riding Westward by Carl Philips this is another poetry book, as I have mentioned I will be collecting poetry books and I just could’t wait to see a shelf full of poetry books.
  • To Every Truth its Season by Sam Steiffer another poetry book I got from Booksale Sm Dasma
  • You Come Too by Robert Frost I was so happy to find it at Booksale SM Dasma, Robert Frost is a known poet, so yay for me!
  • Blackbird and Wolf by Henri Cole another poetry book, I’ve read this one and oh my freaking lord! I love it so much, the metaphors are perfect my absolute fave is Gravity And Center! This is also from Booksale SM Dasma
  • The Last Letter from your Lover by Jojo Moyes and Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen were from my dear friend Shyn of @sherain.books over at Instagram.
  • By My Side by Alice Peterson I got it on sale over at Book Depository  I heard this one is like Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and so I coerced my bookish sisters over at Bookish Pinoys to get it too! 🙂
  • Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys I was so happy to find this for only P20 or .40c! So cheapp! Plus it matches my copy of Good Morning Midnight also by her! Penguins Modern Classics edition are ze best!! I love the vintage feel to it!
  • 1984 by George Orwell this is another lucky find from Booksale SM Dasma!
  • Chasers of The Light by Tyler Knott Gregson the most beautiful poetry book I own so far! Gahh I love his poems!! This book is worth every freaking penny!
  • Ariel by Sylvia Plath I got it from Book Depository! Yes another poetry book!!

So yey! That sums up my February Book Haul! Show me yours!!