May Book Haul

11313548_1641242146096612_1464845534_nYeah, you read that right. MAY Book Haul, it dawned on me that I was not able to post my May Book Haul. So here’s a quick post about it. 🙂

I got 15 books, five of them are poetry books, 2 YAs, 1 graphic novel and 4 novels and 2 memoirs.

As I’ve said on my instagram (@nerdytalksbookblog) I am pretty pleased with my haul, since I only got 2 YAs, I’m not saying YAs are not good, it’s just that, I have come to the point that I need to grow as a reader, I need to widen the horizon and explore more genres. I will always enjoy YA, so don’t go hating on me. I will always crave for the cheesy, easy-breezy feeling that YA gives, but then it’s time to try something new. I will always read YA, but I decided that my shelf could use more classics and adult fiction.

Game of Thrones by George RR Martin I am obsessed with the TV show, and of course you cannot claim to be a hardcore fan if you have not read the books right, plus I heard the TV show left out so many details in the book. So yes, I can’t wait to discover what I have been missing out on! I got this book when I was in HongKong from a bookstore called Page One. I wish I could have gotten more books, but my baggage is full and hand carry is also a no-no.

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen I bought this for P60 or 1.33$ at Chapters and Pages a second hand bookstore here in the Philippines. I don’t usually shop there, since they have very limited selection, but then I was lucky I found this copy in a very good condition for cheap price. If you are wondering the branch I got this from is Chapters and Pages at Robinsons Dasmarinas, it was located at the ground floor. I have not watched the movie, so I am excited to read this first then watch it.

City of Glass by Paul Auster I got this graphic novel from Booksale SM MOA for only P35 or.75$. It was a part of a trilogy called The New York Trilogy, which was Mathew’s (of WeLiveForBooks on youtube) favorite book. The drawings are really interesting kind of reminded me of Attack of the Titan.

Sunset Park by Paul Auster Again this book is influenced by Matthew. He was such a fan of Paul Auster, so when  I saw this for only P80 or 1.77$. I can’t wait to read it! Also from Booksale SM Moa

Into it by Lawrence Joseph This is a poetry book I got for P60 or 1.33$ from BookSale SM Moa. It was the boyfriend who actually paid for Sunset Park Into it and The Year of Magical Thinking, hee hi boyfriend, thank you!)

A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers Oh my god you guys! I am so excited for this book!! I  have been wanting this forever and I was so sure to get it for its full price, but then the book gods smiled at me and gave it to me for P115 or 2.55$ from BookSale SM Dasmarinas 🙂

The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion another book ive been wanting forever, I hate nothing but great things about this, most say it is depressing yet beautiful! I can’t wait to finally read it. I got it from Book for Less at SM Moa for P198 or 4.4$.

Pierce The Skin by Henri Cole this is a collection of Poetry by Henri Cole which I adore very much! I have read his other poetry book The Blackbird and Wolf and instantly fell in love with it! I got this from SM MOA Booksale for if Im not mistaken P125 or 2.77$

The Red Glove by Holly Black this is the second book in the White Cat series (geez im not sure if that is what the series is called), I got it for P130 or 2.88$ from Booksale SM Dasmarinas. I got White Cat from the same branch too. Now I need Black heart to complete them! I have faith that I will find it in Booksale too!

Repair by C.K. Williams this is a Pulitzer Prize winner, so yes I was too happy to have it! It was only P80 or 1.77$ from SM Dasma Booksale. I’ve read it too and it was really interesting.

There You’ll Find Me by Jenny B. Jones I’ve had copy of this on my e-reader for the longest time so when I found it on Booksale I knew I had to get it, I always prefer the physical copy anyway. It has great ratings on goodreads! I got it for P115 or 2.55$

The Year of What Now by Brian Russell Oh my god! This book is so beautiful it actually hurts. I was able to relate to it, it was a poetry book about living with and loving someone with cancer. It gave me goosebumps and made me cry. It easily became a favorite. Got it for P60 or 1.33$ from Booksale SM MOA

The Girl Between The Trees by Toni Gilyard also a poetry book from MOA but I forgot how much was it. Oops

Room by Emma Donoghue holy smokes I grabbed this one so fast when I saw it. It was only P60 or 1.33$. I got this together with Water for Elephants! Yayy! Again, it is the book that I have heard so many things about!

Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt this was a memoir that was highly recommended to me by my dear friend Gie (@psy-kaoru on instagram) so when I saw it in hardcover and perfect condition I knew I had to get it. It was only P90 or 2$ from Booksale SM Dasmarinas.

Wheww. That was not really a quick post. I’m still going to post my June Bookhaul, in which I accumulated 32 freaking books. Goodluck with all the caption. Ugh.

5 thoughts on “May Book Haul

Leave a Reply

