August Book haul

11909419_118687511816824_94225301_n

Okayyyy. August Book Haul! I got 25 books in total! (Insert all my defensive speech here) most of it are bargain and I got a lot of poetry books this month which makes me really happy! 🙂

1. Love of Fat Men by Helen Dunmore

This is a collection of short stories about love(?) haha don’t quote me on that, I honestly don’t know. I got curious about the title and I’ve read a few paragraphs and I though I like it. Plus, I really have a small collection of short stories this will be a cool addition to it. Andddd, it was only P10 or .25c from Booksale Pedro Gil. It was a winner of The Orange Prize ( which to be honest I have no idea there is such a thing)

2. Left Neglected by Lisa Genova
Also a book I got for P10 from Booksale Pedro Gil, I have been meaning to read Lisa Genova’s work, so when I saw this for super cheap price, I just could not pass it up.

3. American Sublime by Elizabeth Alexander

is a poetry book also for P10. I love poetry books about the dilemmas of African American in the past and how are they able to stand up for themselves. One poetry book I could recommend would be Beg Your Pardon by Lynne Thompson. This is from Booksale Pedro Gil

4. Prodigal Summer by Rebecca Kingsolver

I got this book for also for P10, Rebecca Kingsolver is the author of Poisonwood Bible, another book I’ve been meaning to read for the longest time. From Booksale Pedro Gil.

5. The King’s General by Daphne Du Maurier

Finally a Du Maurier book, i’ve been wanting to read her works since I’ve heard about her through Zoey of WeLiveForBooks on Booktube. Thank God for people’s recommendations, Daphne Du Maurier is an author I have not read anything by, so when I saw it in a great condition for only P10, how could I pass that one up? How could I?? This one is from Booksale Pedro Gil.

6. On Beauty by Zadie Smith

Yas it is the hardcover edition which is sooo beautiful with very pretty end papers! Only for P80 or more or less 2$, insane! To be honest, I have not read anything by her either, so whenever I see one of her works at Booksale, I buy it. Got this from Booksale PedroGil.

7. Chronicles of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Ahh I was so stoked to find it at our second hand bookstore in perfect condition! I only have read Memories of My Melancholy Whore and I really enjoyed it, so it is my life mission to read Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s works. This is for P115 or 2.50$ from Booksale Pedro Gil

8. Otherwise Elsewhere by David Rivard

This is a poetry book from Booksale Robinsons Imus for P85. This book describes the many powers – psychological and historical – that flow people’s lives in acts of faith, greed, pleasure, celebrity, gossip and consolation.

9. Lifting Dress by Lauren Berry

Another poetry book which has an interesting story, it is about a girl after she has been raped. I have read a few books with rape as its topic but never a poetry book about it. So I would really like to see how the author will go about it. This is only P20 from BookSale SM Dasmariñas. It is a National Poetry Series winner.

10. Sonnets from the Portuguese and other Love Poems by Elizabeth Barrett Browning

This is one of the poetry books that I was so happy I found at booksale. It was included in the Rory Gilmore’s reading challenge and it has beautiful illustrations inside, you can just imagine how happy I was to see it for only P60 or 1.50$ at Booksale SM Dasmariñas

11. The Middle Ages by Roger Fanning

Another poetry book for only P20 at Booksale SM Dasmariñas. I browsed it and liked some of the poems

12. Swan Poems and Prose Poems by Mary Oliver

This another poetry book by Mary Oliver. I got this from @librodega, who was by the way one of nicest sellers there is!!

13. Why I wake Early by Mary Oliver 

Another one from librodega. It is my life mission now to collect all works of Mary Oliver

14. Little Foot by Charles Wright

I cannot believe to see this at Booksale Pedrogil, it was one poem made into a book. I’ve been wanting to read a Charles Wright poetry book. Oh this was P85

15. Vanishing Line by Jeffrey Yang

Another poetry book, I told you this month is a good month for poetry books. i got this for P10!! Yass!!. This book is an exploration of the various lines – horizon line, timeline, bloodline, poetic line – beyond which so much seemingly vanishes from sight, from memory.

16. Out of The Office Girl by Nicola Doherty

Another lucky find for only P35! It is a chicklit, a genre I am such a sucker for, plus it is in new-ish condition.

17. Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay

Got this one from Booksale Pedro Gil for only P35. This is another lucky find, I first heard this book from my dear friend @jayne.vs.books on Instagram, it is a historical fiction set in WW2. I have only a few historical fiction books, so whenever I have the chance I buy one.

18. Complete Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle 

This is a Barnes and Noble exclusive! My sister’s friend went to the US  so I took the chance! These books are actually on sale so happy to have them on my shelf. They look so beautiful!

19. Arabian Nights Translated by Sir Richard Burton

20. Moy Sand and Gravel by Paul Muldoom

Another poetry book for only P20 or half a dollar from Booksale SM Manila. It is a winner of the Pulitzer Prize, so if that’s not a good reason to buy it, I don’t know what else is.

21. Apology of Want by Mary Jo Bang

Another poetry book from Booksale SM Manila for only P20. It is a winner of The Katharine Bakeless Nason Poetry Prize. And I love love the poems inside! Can’t wait to read them all!

22. Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

I have been lusting over this particular copy for quite sometime now, mainly because of its black pages, so when Book Depository had a sale, I took the chance and bought this beauty and ahhh it is just the most beautiful book! Special thanks to my dear friend Gie for helping me get it.

23. I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou

I got this from an online seller @theresescloset on instagram for super cheap. I don’t own any Maya Angelou book so this will be a good addition to start my collection.

24. White Apples and the Taste of Stone: Selected Poems 1946 – 2006 by Donald Hall

Now this is a very interesting find, I never really had plans on buying anything more than a hundred peso inside the Booksale because I was seriously saving up for Manila International Book Fair, This compilation of poetry flaunted itself to me, it was P175 or almost 4$, so the frugal side of me is seriously having second thoughts, But I came upon this poem:

Ardor

Nursing her I felt alive

in the animal moment,

scenting the predator.

Her death was the worst thing

that could happen,

and caring for her was the best.

After she died I screamed,

upsetting the depressed dog.

Now I no longer

address the wall covered

with many photographs,

nor call her “you”

in a poem. She recedes

into the granite museum

of Jane Kenyon 1947- 1995.

I long for the absent

woman of different faces

who makes metaphors

and chops onion, drinking

a glass of Chardonnay,

oiling the wok, humming

to herself, maybe thinking

how to conclude a poem.

When I make love now,

something is awry.

Last autumn a woman said.

“I mistrust your ardor.”

This winter in Florida

I loathed the old couples

my age who promenaded

in their slack flesh

holding hands, I gazed

at young women with outrage

and desire – unable to love

or to work, or to die.

Hours are slow and weeks

rapid in their vacancy.

Each day lapses as I recite

my complaints. Lust is grief

that has turned over in bed

to look the other way.

So yes after reading that beautiful poem I knew I had to take it home with me, frugality be damned haha! It wasn’t until I was home when I noticed that the book came with an audio cd where I can listen to the poems narrated by the author himself. What is air? So lucky!

25. Another America by Barbara Kingsolver (sadly not in the photo, forgot to include it)

Another poetry book for P20 from Booksale SM Dasmariñas. I didn’t know Barbara Kinsgsolver wrote poems too, this is a nice addition to my poetry collection.

Leave a Reply

