2016 Bookish New Year Resolution

12142013_522581907904824_827327818_n

Ha! Don’t worry I am going to set realistic ones! Haha. You can check the one I made last year here. And check if I was able to stick with all these crazy ones I made here.

  1. Read at least three Classics I did say realistic ones right? So this is the most realistic I could get. Haha! Crossing my fingers I could do it! Can you recommend good classics to start with?
  2. Finish A song of Ice and Fire Yes! I bought the clothbound edition which was oh so gorgeous look at this babe! Hehe12132893_512135912298121_967368750_nSo I vow to finish this at least by April, hopefully, before the new season comes out. At least I am off a good start almost half way through the first book Game of Thrones.
  3. Read Lord of The Rings at least the first book. Haha! I know I can do it, so don’t look at me like that.
  4. Read more Nonfiction and I really mean more than three, last year I was able to squeeze in a few, but was not really that satisfied.So I hope I could actually get around to it.
  5. Lesser YA I have nothing against YA alright? It’s just that I sometimes think I am too old for it, yet I always find myself engrossed over it. This 2016 I hope I could cut on my YA binge reading. Crossing my fingers.
  6. Read at least one Horror book This I dread, haha! But I will try my best to tick this one off my list.
  7. Read collection of Short Stories. I’ve accumulated a lot of short stories, maybe 2016 is the time to finally read them. I was not a fan of collection of short stories, but maybe I haven’t found the perfect one. So here’s to hoping I could read at least three this year.
  8. Again, read historical fiction. A genre I have not explored yet, I think I have only read few ones. I really need to read The Book Thief and Between Shades of Gray, at least start with the popular ones. I will really make sure to stick to this as I have hauled a lot of historical fiction books, The Paris Wife and Love Letters to Your Lover to name a few.
  9. Read a work by Ernest Hemingway I’ve been meaning to read his book a Farewell To Arms, a book I won from a giveaway by @ziba.reads on Instagram, but never got around to it. Hopefully 2016 will give me a time to get to know Ernest Hemingway.
  10. Start Outlander I guess it is about damn time to join the bandwagon.
  11. Read at least 50 books. I have set my reading challenge to 50. I am keeping it within a realistic range. It is so hard not to be able to finish the challenge.
  12. Attend more Book Signings.  2015 was the first time I attended a book signing, it was a tiring one yet super fun. I hope I could attend more this year.
  13. Impose a book buying ban. I will be imposing read five buy 1 book, again with the exception of warehouse sale and secondhand bookstore. My TBR is cuh-razzzy.
  14. Read more Retellings I just recently enjoyed retellings, (Cinder, The Wrath and The Dawn) so I would like to read more of it this 2016. Can you suggest great retellings you have read? I am aiming to read Cruel Beauty and A Thousand Nights.
  15. Read at least one Daphne Du Maurier novel I have heard so many good things about her, so it is about time to get acquainted with her writing.
  16. Read Award Winning Books I have read just a few, it is the year to remedy that! Maybe I could start with Wolf Hall by  Hilary Mantel.
  17. Continue reading Poetry Books My 2015 was filled with poetry books, of course it will be a regular part of my reading life, I hope I would discover new poets to love. I can’t wait!
  18. Read Joan Didion’s works I only have one of her books which is The Year of Magical Thinking. I have heard a lot of great things about Joan Didion so I vow to read a lot of her works.
  19. More Chuck Palahniuk I own 7 of his books, he is one of my favorite authors, so it is just right to read more of his works.
  20. Read, read and read. And never judge a book by its review or ratings. I have read books with high ratings yet I end up disappointed with them, and I also have read books that only had average ratings but has become my favorite. So yes, I vow to never judge a book.

What is your bookish new year resolution? Oh goodness I hope when 2016 comes to a conclusion I could proudly say that I was able to stick with all my resolutions. Let’s see! 🙂

Happy New Year everyone, cheers to a better reading year! 🙂

20 thoughts on “2016 Bookish New Year Resolution

  1. I’m planning to read LOTR too but i don’t know if it’s okay to start reading it before The Hobbit. I also set my reading challenge to 50 and I’m gonna be reading horror books this year 🙂 *virtual high fives* hahaha

  2. Hemingway was pretty much a misogynist. But we had to read him in school. I think he was a better short story writer than novelist. If you want to say one day, I’ve read Hemingway!, I recommend Old Man and the Sea instead. Short novella, a great example at the style he was famous for and got him the Pulitzer.

  3. Happy New Year, Eunice! Loving all your resolutions, and I am sure you will manage them. I also want to read more non-fiction and less YA in 2016. Have you read “The Picture of Dorian Gray” by Oscar WIlde? Next to “Pride and Prejudice” my all time favorite classic ❤

    • i have read Pride and Prejudice, I need to reread it though, been a long time since I’ve read it. Picture of Dorian Gray I have yet to read. I will surely consider reading it this year. 😊

      Hopefully we could truly lessen reading YA. Haha. Nora Ephron’s I Feel Bad About My Neck and I Remember Nothing are good ones to start with nonfiction. 😊

  4. That seems a pretty good New Years resolution list. I managed 31 books last year and definitely aim to improve on that number this year. Good luck with your resolutions, I look forward to hearing what you’ve read

    • Thanks! I have to force myself to really stick to these resolutions. I don’t want to be the same reader, I want to improve! Good luck on your reading life as well, hope you can manage to read more than what you read last year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

