Me Before You by Jojo Moyes: Book Review

12383284_1310911492268300_1410108502_n

Synopsis: Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.
What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.
Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.
What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Publisher: Michael Joseph (UK)

Date Published: January 5, 2012

Date read: January 8, 2016

No. of Pages: 481

Source: Bought it from Taiwan

 

REVIEW

 Haunting and scarring, yet you wouldn’t have it any other way.

Me Before You is one of the few books that will haunt you for a long time, or maybe forever. It is more like a slow burn, that will leave an ugly scar, but you will succumb, yes without an iota of hesitation. It is one of those books that you already know that there is something so tragic that will happen, but you like pain and sadness so you will go ahead and put on your bravest heart, and even then, even when you thought you are ready for the blow of the inevitable, you will still be left by no means unscathed. All your mental and emotional preparations proved futile, because there is nothing to prepare you for what will unfold.

I bawled like I have never bawled before. I think a big chunk of my heart will always feel that pain. It was sad, but the beautiful kind of sad, if that ever made sense. I started reading it expecting it to be just the ordinary book with sad ending, but then it was definitely a lot more than that. I was able to get a lot out of this book. I mentioned something on my blog about not finding a book that have “changed my life” yet, but after reading Me Before You, this may very well be the book that changed my life.

It was my first Jojo Moyes read, and it will definitely not be the last. I was reminded of Jessica Thompson’s writing when I was reading Me Before You another reason to love Jojo Moyes more. I also noticed that I love books set in England/London, there’s just something more engaging when it is set there.

Louisa Clark’s character resembles that of a lot of women out there, she’s like the amalgamation of every normal girl. I loved how the book painted her in such a way that makes her very relatable. In such a way that she’s very realistic, it is safe to say there is a Louisa Clark in every one of us. Determined and driven.

Will Traynor is a character that you will have to spare a few more moments to understand. His character sometimes made it hard for me to grasp what  he wanted to do with his life. I struggled to see things in his perspective, but this by no means affected the beauty of the book. Will’s character made the book deeper, made the whole book with so much sense and wisdom. His character though flawed was just what the book needed.

As the story progresses you will notice how the characters made an impact to each other, how they changed each other’s perspective. I love that in a book, when you get to feel the transformation of the characters and how their relationship developed, it is like you are actually with them and they are all real.

I truly commend how the book will rip your heart out, crush it beyond recognition, then try to put it back together, but you know it’ll never be the same again, that maybe small parts have been missing and you will forever feel that hollowness. But then you’ll feel renewed and uplifted all at the same time, which is quite contradictory but you can’t find a proper word for it – that’s exactly what I felt and so much more, and again I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Rating: rating_5stars

“All I can say is that you make me… you make me into someone I couldn’t even imagine. You make me happy, even when you’re awful. I would rather be with you – even the you that you seem to think is diminished – than with anyone else in the world.”
― Jojo MoyesMe Before You

 

10 thoughts on “Me Before You by Jojo Moyes: Book Review

  1. Yes to the slow burn and yes to the ugly scar this book has left me! 😦 I loved every bit of it, and yet I was breaking and hurting the whole time. I don’t know how that’s even possible. I can’t wait to re-read it!

  2. Hello Nerdy 🙂 i loved your review, your style of writing is beautiful.
    I’m not a native speaker of English, but i’m trying hard to improve and i do that by reading, when i finally got the courage to write and post my writing, I started with reviewing Me Before you because i loved it, and i had to talk about it. Can you please check out my review and tell me what I should add or delete, so that my next review would be better. I google how to write reviews and checked some books, but I really want opinions from people who read and write reviews.
    Thank yo very much.

Leave a Reply

