Penny In London by Fisher Amelie: Book Review

kombibros

Synopsis from Goodreads: You know how everyone says when one door closes another one opens? At the time, you find this statement obnoxious as all get out because a) you don’t really know what the future holds, it certainly hasn’t been a cakewalk so far, and b) the thought of change is unbearable. You feel like your life is falling apart and everyone around is feeding you clichés like they’re made out of kale or quinoa or whatever the trend health food is right now. You don’t want kale clichés, you want double-chocolate fudge realisms, and you want them now. You just want things the way they were, but then something happens, a moment, an instant that sets you out on a path toward happiness you never knew could exist, and suddenly you think, huh, I don’t think I want double-chocolate fudge anymore. I think I’m in the mood for this heaping serving of strawberry cheesecake sitting in front of me…with a side of kale. And a pair of split pants, but we won’t get into that right now.

Graham Glenn may have tossed her in, but Oliver Finn made her feel again.

Date Published: July 23, 2016

Publisher: Self-published

Date Read: October 10, 2016

No. of Pages: 244

Source: Author provided me a copy in exchange for an honest review

Setting: London

 

Review

The first book I have read by Fisher Amelie was Callum and Harper which instantly became an all time favorite, I fell in love with the characters and the story. And so I was beyond ecstatic to start yet another book by her – Penny In London. I have been in a Fisher Amelie drought for the longest time and now it finally rained.

Penny in London  will take us to Penny’s journey on losing love, finding it again and everything else in between. There are moments that made me laugh out loud and there are moments that my chest felt so heavy for suppressing my tears because I was reading in public and I wouldn’t want them to think I’m on the verge of a meltdown. So yeah, to say this book brought out different emotions would be an understatement. Fisher Amelie’s brilliance is still apparent in this book, it was an easy yet delightful read. Maybe the only issue I had was, I wish it was longer, I wish there were parts that should have been expounded more so as to bring forth the impact it was trying to effect on its readers. There was something that I was looking for, nonetheless, it was good – it captured my attention and finished it in a day, which doesn’t happen often *insert adult life here and all the responsibilities I’m trying to run away from, haha!*.

Penny’s character is relatable in more ways than one. There is this sense of feeling that you couldn’t help but feel for her, happens to the best of us, I suppose. I loved how she developed into an independent woman after what happened with Graham. Oliver’s character, on the other hand, was a little hard for me to comprehend. I was trying to dissect his whole persona to come up with a spot-on conclusion on his character but came up short. His character was a little inconsistent, there are traits that contradict one another and I was finding it hard to reconcile them. The depth of his despair and how he handled situations  were also a little lacking for me. Again, maybe I was looking for something more.

The story was divided into stages of grief, which served as a good mood-setter (if that is a thing), it somehow gives you the overview or at least what to expect from that chapter. And can you guys give me a pat on the back for knowing about the plot twist from the very beginning? I swear I was pumping my hands through the air whilst saying “I so knew it!”. Don’t get me wrong the book wasn’t predictable, I don’t know, but I just had that deep feeling that that was the big plot twist of the book. And I was so happy to know I have been right all along. *insert smug face, haha kidding*. So yes, despite the fact that this is a fun and easy read, there is that big twist that you have to watch out for, come back to me if you saw it coming too, or if you didn’t, that’s also amazing! I love me some books with unexpected twists. This book is wholesome and decent, something that is hard to find these days, it focused on the story rather than the steamy parts, us romance readers, know all too well. I love that it didn’t try hard to include unnecessary steamy situations just so it could sell. It was just right as it is.

And yep I had that biggest smile at the ending. It was so cute and heartwarming. I wish there were more pages so I could relish it for much longer. So go ahead, treat yourself with a light and funny read and pick this book up! You’re welcome.

 

Rating: rating_4stars

 

I don’t believe in regrets, not really. I mean, in the heat of a moment I may strongly wish I hadn’t done something but to be honest, I believe all our decisions help mold us into the persons we’re supposed to become. Think about it, if everyone made flawless decisions, how could any of us truly understand life, and all it’s accompanying beauties? If we never suffer, how can we recognize joy for what it is? If we never witness another’s struggles, how can we submit ourselves to helping them? No regrets help shape us into selfless people. After all, the only regrets people really speak of are surrounded by a hesitation to love or allow love.

Penny In London by Fisher Amelie

FullSizeRender

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Penny In London by Fisher Amelie: Book Review

Leave a Reply

