Nowhere But Here by Renee Carlino : Book Review

new-used

imageedit_1_3468234889

From Goodreads: A Chicago reporter in her mid-twenties unexpectedly finds love in Napa Valley when she’s assigned to spend a week with a famously reclusive genius.

Kate Corbin has lost her spark. From the outside, her life seems charmed. She has a handsome, long-term boyfriend and a budding journalism career at a popular Chicago newspaper. But in reality, her relationship is going nowhere, and she’s quickly losing motivation for what she once believed was her dream job. When her boyfriend dumps her unceremoniously, Kate loses all hope of finding love.

With no living family and few friends, Kate confides in her boss. Trusting that the hungry, ace reporter is buried somewhere deep inside, he gives Kate the opportunity to jumpstart her career. The assignment: to interview the famously reclusive R.J. Lawson, a wealthy tech genius who disappeared years ago but recently reemerged as a Napa Valley vintner. The week takes an unexpected turn, however, when Lawson refuses to divulge any information. Desperate for a lead, Kate turns to Jamie, a vineyard hand who shows her the romance of wine country—and stirs her aching heart. But his connection to Lawson is ambiguous, and when Jamie disappears before the end of the week, Kate is left to investigate another story: the truth behind the man who stole her heart.

USA TODAY bestselling author Renée Carlino explored love and heartbreak in her beautifully written debut Sweet Thing, and her newest novel does not disappoint. For fans of Colleen Hoover, K.A. Tucker, and Katja Millay, Nowhere But Here is a stirring and satisfying romance that you won’t want to put down.

Date of Publication: May 5, 2014

Publisher:  Atria Books

Date Read: January 2017

Number of Pages: 320

Setting: Napa Valley San Francisco/ Chicago

Source: Book Outlet

Get your copy here: Book Depository and Amazon

 

 

imageedit_13_7735683809

I love Renee Carlino, I really do. But Nowhere But Here didn’t do it for me. Well, we have our fave authors but it doesn’t necessarily follow that we have to love everything they have written. There will always be something we could not fully connect to or identify with, and this was that book in my case. Reading Nowhere But Here was a struggle, and I don’t mean it to say to ward people off or smear the book, at the end of the day it is always the reader’s choice whether they would like to read a book or not. Reviews are just guide, or something that could cushion the blow, perhaps a warning. It is all up to the person if he wants to read it or not, if yes, then great, if not, then let’s move on with our lives. This is just my perception about the book, you may disagree with me, but I think we are all entitled to our own opinions. After all that’s what book reviews are for. So, let’s continue, shall we?

Nowhere But Here was a poor attempt on being romantic, so much so that it was already bordering cringe-worthy. I couldn’t count the times my eyes rolled so hard, or the times I had to pause to gather whatever modicum of patience left in my body. I had to read through all that, and I tell you it was a struggle. I just couldn’t grasp the story, there was something off about it. I do understand that a lot of people enjoyed reading this book, and I’m truly glad they did. I guess this book just isn’t for me. I’ve had a lot of issues about it, and I was looking for a redeeming quality but found nothing. The cringe-worthy parts went on and on and I never thought I wouldn’t see the light at the end of that grueling tunnel. It was cliche at best, nothing I’ve never seen before. It doesn’t offer anything new on the table. It was forgettable.

The characters were weak and annoying to a fault. Let’s take into consideration our female protagonist – Kate Corbin, I found her character to be boring and too dramatic, too much self pity and all that jazz. I was mentally saying “Oh sweetheart, get over yourself already. You’re being unbearable by the second.” And now our male protagonist – Jaime, he was okay. Nothing astounding or remarkable. He was a cliche character at best. The do-gooder, and too-smitten guy which to be completely honest is bordering creepy. And don’t get me started with the sex scenes, I mean, I don’t know if it is just me or the cheesiness of this book is just too much. These two are horny bunnies that couldn’t last the day without sex . I’m not a reader who is easily affected by steamy scenes – but with this one, oh good lord – I have no words. There are a lot of instances in the book that was so off-putting, I had to bite my tongue to get through all of it. And for the love of everything that is holy it was INSTALOVE! Goodness gracious they barely know each other.

It wasn’t the most original storyline. Mediocre is what it was. And that twist? I’ve seen it coming from the moment Jaime opened his mouth. Why does this book felt like it was written by a different person? You have to understand where I’m driving at. The three books I have read by Renee Carlino instantly became favorites, but with this one I was surprised that every fibre in my being loathed it.

imageedit_3_3844993680

“Love is a thing that you can’t take out of you. Once it’s there, it doesn’t go away, no matter what. Love can morph into hate and resentment, but it will always be there, buried under the bad feelings.”
Renee Carlino, Nowhere but Here

phonto

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s