The Deal (Off Campus #1) by Elle Kennedy: Book Review

 

Synopsis: She’s about to make a deal with the college bad boy…

Hannah Wells has finally found someone who turns her on. But while she might be confident in every other area of her life, she’s carting around a full set of baggage when it comes to sex and seduction. If she wants to get her crush’s attention, she’ll have to step out of her comfort zone and make him take notice…even if it means tutoring the annoying, childish, cocky captain of the hockey team in exchange for a pretend date.

…and it’s going to be oh so good

All Garrett Graham has ever wanted is to play professional hockey after graduation, but his plummeting GPA is threatening everything he’s worked so hard for. If helping a sarcastic brunette make another guy jealous will help him secure his position on the team, he’s all for it. But when one unexpected kiss leads to the wildest sex of both their lives, it doesn’t take long for Garrett to realize that pretend isn’t going to cut it. Now he just has to convince Hannah that the man she wants looks a lot like him.

Date Published: February 24, 2015

Publisher: Self-Published

No. Of Pages: 342

 

REVIEW

HIGHLY ADDICTIVE. ROMANCE OVERLOAD. SATISFACTION GUARANTEED.

But wait there’s more, read now and you will get to fantasize about dreamy hockey players.

 Hahah ir seems like I am advertising a drug haha. But seriously, that’s how I loved this book. It was so addictive, I could not literally put it down, save for when I have to participate in life and do mundane things. If I could go on a day without eating just to finish this book, I totally would.

I’ve asked my dear friends for some NA recommendation, since I was in the mood for one. It has been so long since I have read a good NA. The Deal was constantly recommended to me (hi Bea, Pearl, Cath and Elena) and I couldn’t thank these people enough for introducing me to this series. Ah Garrett Graham. *insert heart eyes*. The Deal definitely was the kind of NA I was craving for. You have no idea how deprived I am of reading new adult, so much so, that after reading The Deal, I might just binge read all the other books in the series, which is very unlikely of me, so that says a lot  You know what they say, you’ll always go back to your first love, which it was NA for me, it was the genre that ignited my love for reading again.

Cheesiness overload? CHECK

Dreamy Guys with Dreamy Bodies? SUPER CHECK. Everyone is gorgeous in this book.

A Strong Female Protagonist? CHECK

A DARK PAST? YUPPPP.

SWOON WORTHY? OH YEAH

All that and more. A college bad boy and a goody good girl kind of story is always right up my alley. These are the kind of guilty pleasure reads I would so willingly give in. Because come on, what’t not to love? I do understand that themes in NA books run the same storyline. A dark past, an unexpected meeting, steamy scenes… those comprise the formula of NA, it is just a matter of hitting the right spots, writing the perfect characters, putting some variation and some oomph or flavor and The Deal did just that, it was not the most original storyline, yes, but it worked for me. I was hooked from the beginning until the very end, and yes to the extent that I even dreamt about it.

Garrett Graham was the captain of the hockey team, he was of course drop dead gorgeous with ripped abs and face that could melt anyone’s panty (*author’s words not mine* haha) and Hannah Wells the regular girl with a sordid past she was trying to outlive. It was a sure recipe for a good romance don’t you think? I loved how feisty Wellsy is. I loved her strong personality, and how she doesn’t back down to anything, I just had a little issue with her sometimes, there were Eh? moments, but it was easily overshadowed by her over-all personality, so it was still okay. Garrett, on the other hand is someone that is more than what meets the eye. He was not a dumb college boy, he was actually good in school, save for Ethics haha. He was a little cocky and maybe a little too good to be true. But I loved both of them, I love them so much I want to hug them haha. And I so love their banters! They are just so cute, I cannot even!

The whole story was something I really enjoyed reading, I loved the set of friends both Hannah and Garrett have, they were all good people and good looking haha. I love Hannah’s parents! But sometimes it was bordering unrealistic, but it was something  I could live with. It tackles sensitive issues, but I loved how the author didn’t press too much on that subject, making things just easy and fun to read.

This book was definitely a sweet surprise, I can’t simply swipe off that stupid smile on my face after I read the book. It was just so good, it will leave you with that satisfied feeling. I highly recommend it!!!

Now excuse me as I continue on with the other books. 🙂

“Him: Confession: I deleted all the 1 Direction from your iPod when u were in the can.
You’re welcome.
Me: WHAT?? I’m going to kiss u!
Him: With tongue?
It takes me a second to realize what happened, at which point I’m completely mortified.
Me: Kill u! I meant KILL. u. Damn autocorrect.
Him: Surrrrrre. Let’s blame it on autocorrect.
Me: Shut it.
Him: I think someone wants to kiss me…”
― Elle KennedyThe Deal

2 thoughts on “The Deal (Off Campus #1) by Elle Kennedy: Book Review

Leave a Reply

